Together, we can make our
voices heard!

Why Should I Join?

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Dairy Crisis
2012 Scholarship Winners Announced PDF Print E-mail

Dec. 10, 2012

Contact: Melisa Augusto, 202-314-3191
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Dan McEvily, 202-314-3104
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

WASHINGTON (Dec. 10, 2012) – National Farmers Union (NFU) Foundation presented scholarships to college students in memory of Stanley Moore, a long-time leader of North Dakota Farmers Union.
NFU Foundation presented three $1,000 Stanley Moore National Scholarship awards for 2012 to Ramon Portuese of Rocky Mountain Farmers Union; Amanda Stevens of North Dakota Farmers Union; and Kirsten Slaughter of Wisconsin Farmers Union.
"These three students have demonstrated a commitment to improving rural America," said NFU President Roger Johnson. "This year’s winners will be the next generation of leaders, and Farmers Union is proud of what they have accomplished so far and will continue to accomplish."
The program was established in the memory of Stanley Moore for his life-long dedication to Farmers Union. Moore was born into two prominent Farmers Union families. He also served as the NFU vice president and as chairman of the NFU Insurance Companies.
NFU Foundation is now accepting applications for the 2013 Stanley Moore Scholarships. The NFU Foundation Moore scholarship is open to Farmers Union members and their children who are seeking funding to attend a two- or four-year accredited college or university, or technical school for any area of study. All applications must be postmarked on or before April 20, 2013 to be considered.  To download the application, please visit NFU’s Education page, or  
National Farmers Union has been working since 1902 to protect and enhance the economic well-being and quality of life for family farmers, ranchers and rural communities through advocating grassroots-driven policy positions adopted by its membership.